Archive for November 13th, 2011

November 13, 2011

Kimberly Scott//San Antonio Wedding Photography: Happy Accidents

As a photographer, I have learned that the photos I’m supposed to keep are the ones that are:

Properly exposed, crisp and clear and in focus, properly composed.

But sometimes… I turn my back on the rules, almost purposely defy them because I find a shot that does not meet any of the traditional photography criteria. I have shot so many weddings, I almost go into robot mode when choosing the images to keep and those to reject.

This shot is one I rejected. It was by accident that I decided to keep it. As I was choosing the images to move to the reject pile, I came across this one that was in the reject pile. BUT… it made me remember this moment between Tony and Heather. They had just said “I do” and were only minutes as husband and wife.

I remember that feeling. I didn’t want the image to be lost just because it wasn’t as good as the “rules” say it should be.

I am so happy I kept it. I hope when they look back at it, they are able to recall the moments after becoming husband and wife and focus less on the imperfections (as I’m sure most of the photogs looking have pointed out already:)

This experience taught me that breaking the rules can be rewarding. It also taught me to let a few “rejects” make it to the “keep” pile every now and then. Because the moment caught within these imperfect images is worth more than a perfect image of nothing important.

Maybe I’ll apply this idea to life more often as well; start seeing the imperfect things in life as little treasures of something more special than the imperfect package it’s given in.

I’ll be featuring more of Heather and Tony’s (in focus) wedding soon!