Trying to not bring my work home…as much.

 

So in this post I declared my New Years resolutions… or lack thereof. Being at the age of “almost 30″means I know myself pretty well and I just don’t follow through with empty promises of changing myself over the course of a year. I have always believed my life experiences will determine how I evolve and what I do or do not do when it comes to being a different person.

I do however believe in trying to better myself through goals. One of my goals for this year was to spend more time “disconnected”. Because I own two companies (both of which require a lot of online interaction) I am on my phone way too much and I find it hard to detach at times. Last year I decided to take times where I did not look at my emails and phone for an hour at a time during the day. Sometimes I am very good at it, other times, it’s work. But every time I do, I get a peace and a mini recharge.

Wednesday was an example of me trying to disconnect. I told Jonathan that when I got home in the afternoon, I wanted to ride our bikes to the park and read. Just me, him, a blanket, and a few random bugs mulling around.

In two years of having my bike, I had ridden it maybe 8 times.

Shameful. But I have made it a goal to ride more, read more and “disconnect” even more. A scary statement coming from someone who works in Social Media (a job that screams “stay connected”, but I believe it will make me a better person… better at retaining information on social trends, photo trends and perfecting my own craft of photography.

This is me trying.

1. Trying to listen to my husband without looking at my phone… so that I learn more about who he is, who he wants to be, who he wants me to be. Actually “hearing” him.

2. Trying to embrace the silence so I can hear myself. To hear the voice within more clearly so that I may know more about who I am, who I want to be, who I do not want to be.

3. Trying to learn how to lean on others a little more; not try taking on the world alone so much. Sharing my fears, my hopes and my past to connect with others.

4. Trying to let more light than darkness in. It can be so easy to embrace the negativity that surrounds me sometimes… my own judgements, insecurities, my own mistakes; I have to hold onto the positives.

5. Trying not to take EVERYTHING so serious; have fun even if there’s still work to do. To make life easier and less stressful to walk through…for myself and the ones I love.

We had a great time at the park, and although it was brief, it made me want to do it more. I believe I will too, because I don’t feel like I “have” to.

All of these photos were taken with Jonathan’s phone…seriously love that. And I am still loving using the Lo-Fi app (see my post on it HERE).

5 Comments to “Trying to not bring my work home…as much.”

  1. double the love from me 🙂
    Firstly, your twitter background made my heart smile. 🙂 I love your post I was just thinking about this. The social media is so addicting and can be difficult to pull away from but it’s somehting I need to work on. I am sure it must be harder for you since you have to businesses but I am sure you’ll do it. Or if I’m ever around you I’ll stop you from tweeting that last tweet. ❤

  2. double the love from me 🙂
    Firstly, your twitter background made my heart smile. 🙂 I love your post I was just thinking about this. The social media is so addicting and can be difficult to pull away from but it’s somehting I need to work on. I am sure it must be harder for you since you have to businesses but I am sure you’ll do it. Or if I’m ever around you I’ll stop you from tweeting that last tweet. ❤

  3. I LOVE this Kimberly!! Thanks for sharing. And congratulations on the launch tonight. So happy for you girls!

  4. Thanks for sharing this, Kim! It’s a hard and weird battle and one I’m still trying to figure out that is best for me. Much love. ❤

  5. Thanks for sharing this, Kim! It’s a hard and weird battle and one I’m still trying to figure out that is best for me. Much love. ❤

Leave a comment